This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Aug 16, 2012 7:21 PM by 956274 RSS

Error Using Instant Client to Connect MS Access to Oracle

887765 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am getting an error "The setup routines for the Oracle in instantclient_11_2 ODBC driver could not be loaded due to system error code 14001: the application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect"

All, I am running Windows 7 64BIT and am trying to connect MS Access to Oracle using an ODBC connection. I downloaded the instant client and ODBC client and unzipped them into a folder called C:\\oracle. This created a folder called instantclient_11_2

I ran the odbc_install.exe file and got no errors.

I set PATH=C:\\Oracle per the Read Me

I ran %systemdrive%\Windows\SysWoW64\Odbcad32.exe-> System DSN-> Instantclient_11_2 before getting the error.

I am not that technical so any advice you can provide would be appreciated.
  • 1. Re: Error Using Instant Client to Connect MS Access to Oracle
    PavanG Pro
    Please refer to the below MOS doc for resolving this issue.

Configuring Oracle ODBC Driver Fails With : "System Error Code 14001: The Application has Failed to Start Because its Side-by-side Configuration is Incorrect." (Doc ID 1318061.1)
  • 2. Re: Error Using Instant Client to Connect MS Access to Oracle
    sb92075 Guru
    884762 wrote:
    I am getting an error "The setup routines for the Oracle in instantclient_11_2 ODBC driver could not be loaded due to system error code 14001: the application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect"

All, I am running Windows 7 64BIT and am trying to connect MS Access to Oracle using an ODBC connection.
    On which system does MS Access reside; hostname, OS name & version?
    On which system does Oracle RDBMS server reside; hostname, OS name & version & which Oracle version to 4 decimal places?
  • 3. Re: Error Using Instant Client to Connect MS Access to Oracle