This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply: Aug 29, 2012 6:34 AM by wkobargs RSS

Sybase to Oracle migration

Rahul_India Journeyer
Currently Being Moderated
Has anyone here done sybase to oracle migration.I am new to oracle have been assigned this task.
Please share the challenges and methods you faced and implemented .
  • 1. Re: Sybase to Oracle migration
    wkobargs Journeyer
    Hello,

for sure many did such migrations. Just click on the Search button and search for "Sybase Migration" and you will get many hits.

As a starter I suggest also clicking here:

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/products/migration/sybase-085571.html#

Regards
    Wolfgang
  • 2. Re: Sybase to Oracle migration
    Rahul_India Journeyer
    Can u tell me the major challenges you faced while migrating from sybase to oracle
  • 3. Re: Sybase to Oracle migration
    wkobargs Journeyer
    Hello,

when I said that many made such migrations, I meant many customers. I am not a customer, I am working in Oracle Support. We can help you if you have dedicated problems. Questions about experiences can only be answered by other customers, but if no other customer replies in this forum, I can only suggest that you use SQL Developer to do the migration, and if you encounter a problem that you can't solve yourself then you can log a Service Request with Oracle Support.

Wolfgang
  • 4. Re: Sybase to Oracle migration
    Rahul_India Journeyer
    ok thanks
    Oracle Support will charge ..or is it free ?lol
    bcz i am stuck at the moment
  • 5. Re: Sybase to Oracle migration
    wkobargs Journeyer
    Well, our salaries must come from somewhere...