This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Sep 14, 2012 10:46 AM by Dude! RSS

uek-rpm-config rpm similar to redhat-rpm-config ?

960314 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm new to Oracle Linux and have installed OL 6.2 and booted in UEK kernel 2.6.32-300.3.1.el6uek.x86_64.
I'm building the Qlogic FC driver qla2xxx against the UEK kernel using the spec file.
But the driver is built for kernel version 2.6.32-200.el6.x86_64.
This is because the macro %kernel_module_package in the spec file picks up information for 2.6.32-200.el6.x86_64 kernel.

Any idea if uek-rpm-config rpm is available similar to redhat-rpm-config so that the driver is built for the correct UEK kernel version.

Any other pointers on how to get this resolved.

Thanks in advance.
  • 1. Re: uek-rpm-config rpm similar to redhat-rpm-config ?
    Dude! Guru
    Why bother? the UEK and UEK2 kernel, both already supply the qla2xxx driver.

<pre>
    modinfo qla2xxx
    filename: /lib/modules/2.6.39-200.29.2.el6uek.x86_64/kernel/drivers/scsi/qla2xxx/qla2xxx.ko
    firmware: ql2500_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2400_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2322_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2300_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2200_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2100_fw.bin
    version: 8.04.00.03.39.0-k
    license: GPL
    description: QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver
    author: QLogic Corporation
    </pre>

<pre>
    # modinfo qla2xxx
    filename: /lib/modules/2.6.32-279.5.1.el6.x86_64/kernel/drivers/scsi/qla2xxx/qla2xxx.ko
    firmware: ql2500_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2400_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2322_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2300_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2200_fw.bin
    firmware: ql2100_fw.bin
    version: 8.04.00.04.06.3-k
    license: GPL
    description: QLogic Fibre Channel HBA Driver
    author: QLogic Corporation
    </pre>
  • 2. Re: uek-rpm-config rpm similar to redhat-rpm-config ?
    960314 Newbie
    That is fine.
    But I need to update the driver to support new hardware until which I would not be able to
    boot from the SAN disk.