This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Oct 1, 2012 1:01 AM by bmy1 RSS

JavaFX on ARM tablet

964184 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello everybody,

I'm a newbie JavaFX developer who's trying to understand if I can run my JavaFX Application on an ARM tablet, like the Acer Iconia A200.

Apart from the fact that I've got to get one yet, my aim is to install Ubuntu 12.04 ARM on it and setup a proper JDK, but I've read just the future JavaFX 3.0 will support ARM chipsets.

Reading also following thread:

JavaFX for ARM ?

I'm wondering how to contact the right people to ask them a "build or milestone" that Richard is mentioning.

Thanks a lot in advance.
  • 1. Re: JavaFX on ARM tablet
    RichardBair Journeyer
    JavaOne is next week!
  • 2. Re: JavaFX on ARM tablet
    964184 Newbie
    Since it is a business decision to be taken at this time for one of our customers (the difference in cost between a supply of Android tablets and Windows is at least a factor of 2) now I'd like to know if this is feasible.

Actually is some kind of beta JavaFX binaries available for ARM architecture?
  • 3. Re: JavaFX on ARM tablet
    857529 Explorer
    Not yet, but coming soon
  • 4. Re: JavaFX on ARM tablet
    964184 Newbie
    I should say it's a decision I would have had to make in the past days, so I'm very late... "Soon" means a week or so or even more?

(Sorry for my insistence)
  • 5. Re: JavaFX on ARM tablet
    gimbal2 Guru
    Soon is a very relative term. The last roadmap I have seen had it pegged for mid 2013 along with the JDK 8 release. Which in terms of Java releases is very soon since the last one took years to materialize and has still not penetrated far enough to call it stabilized.

What may arrive sooner than that is the developer preview and the beta release, but those are of no use to you professionally.
  • 6. Re: JavaFX on ARM tablet
    964184 Newbie