This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 1, 2012 4:29 PM by Dude! RSS

Partitioning Advice For E-business R12 Vision Install Using OEL6

681102 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am planning to do a fresh install of OEL to use as Oracle R12 test bed with Vision demo database.

Not planning to dual boot. OEL will be the only OS used.

Unfortunately, after spending the past few days I still couldn't determine the optimal partition scheme for my install.

I have a desktop system with the following configuration:
I5-3570K
128GB SSD
750GB HDD
8GB RAM

I'm relatively new to Linux and as such do not understand much in terms of the partition scheme.

Awaiting your responses.

Best Regards.
  • 1. Re: Partitioning Advice For E-business R12 Vision Install Using OEL6
    Dude! Guru
    Partitions are primarily used to address physical disk limitations, BIOS limitations, distributing disk and controller I/O, and to limit possible consequences of full file systems and hardware failures.

If you do not have specific requirements or space management experience with your system than chances are that you will most likely end up with inadequately sized partitions and will need to re-partition later. Why bother? You do not have to create partitions. All your files and directories can reside in the root (/) partition. At the minimum you will need a small boot partition (512 MB) and a root (/) partition. Any other partitions are optional and not a must.

I recommend to mirror critical database files, such as control file, redo log, archive log among physical separate disks - not partitions on the same disk. And also to put your Oracle database backups using rman, FRA on a separate disk. This will increase your changes to rebuild the system in case one of your hard drive fails or dies.
  • 2. Re: Partitioning Advice For E-business R12 Vision Install Using OEL6
    681102 Newbie
    Dude,

Thanks for your response.