This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Oct 9, 2012 6:25 AM by Ben Rogers RSS

How to show logic of picking multiple stores to fulfill an order line item

966498 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm still learning some basics with OPA.

How do I represent the logic of picking multiple stores to fulfill an order line item when no one store has the requested quantity? A concrete example would be greatly appreciated as I'm still thinking procedurally for solutions.
  • 1. Re: How to show logic of picking multiple stores to fulfill an order line item
    Ben Rogers Journeyer
    Hi!

I believe this is following on from the thread:
    Calculating least cost of a product across stores using OPA

So I'm assuming we're using a similar data model.
    If we want to involve quantity as well as cheapest price, then I'm assuming the requirement is:

Find the cheapest price for the product from all the stores which still have quantity left of that product.

This is where inferred relationships come in handy.

Here is an example of what you can do with them to help solve this requirement.

the store is a member of the product's stores if
    .ExistsScope(the store's prices)
    ..the price's product name = the product name

the store is a member of the product's stores with remaining stock if
    .the store is a member of the product's stores and
    ..ExistsScope(the store's quantities)
    ...the quantity's product name = the product name and
    ...the quantity's amount > 0

Then we basically want to pick the cheapest price for the product from the members of the relationship "the product's stores with remaining stock"