3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 8, 2012 4:45 PM by rp0428 RSS

Help with Oracle Database XE edition tutorial

Hi,

I am a student and our instructor has told us to install 11g and now has us running through the 10g tutorial and I've run into a number of problems. There is one issue that I cannot find the solution for and was hoping that somebody could give me a hand.

The tutorial has us make a table. This works...

CREATE TABLE audit_record_tb1
      (
      user_value varchar2(25),
      date_recorded timestamp(6)
      );

Later on, we have to create a trigger that will write to the table when another table's values are updated. This one doesn't work. It gives an error stating 'too many values'

INSERT INTO audit_record_tb1
      VALUES(SYS_CONTEXT('userenv', 'current_user'),
      sysdate, :old.employee_id, :old.salary, :new.salary);
      EXCEPTION
      WHEN OTHERS THEN
      RAISE_APPLICATION_ERROR(-10001, 'audit trigger failure');

There has been no instruction to add columns to the audit_record_tb1 table and I am at a loss as to what the issue is at this point.

Thanks in advance for your help.
        • 1. Re: Help with Oracle Database XE edition tutorial
          Billy~Verreynne
          The ALTER TABLE DDL command is used to change a table definition (adding/deleting columns for example).

See Oracle® Database SQL Language Reference for details.
          • 2. Re: Help with Oracle Database XE edition tutorial
            Sven W.
            963729 wrote:
            There has been no instruction to add columns to the audit_record_tb1 table and I am at a loss as to what the issue is at this point.
            Maybe the tutorial doesn't want you to insert 5 values into a 2 column table? Ok what is the tables task and what attributes are there?

It is named: audit_record_tb1. So the purpose is probably to track everything that was changed in some other table. The columns (=attributes) are: user_value and date_recorded.