This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: Oct 9, 2012 1:29 PM by EduardB RSS

Oracle Database unavailable after machine restart

EduardB Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I have a dedicated machine where I have installed Oracle Database 11.2.0.1.0 under Oracle Linux 6. It worked fine until today, when I had to shutdown the machine for physical relocation. Much to my surprise, when I have restarted the machine, EM wasn't available. Then I realized I could no longer remotely connect to the Database. Then I found out that the listener was down. Then I tried starting the listener, it said that no clients are supported. Then I tried to manually start the DB from sqlplus, I could not even log in to it. Then I ran dbca, which cried about EM not being secure. Then I found out that the emkey.ora was missing (and as a newbie, I hadn't made a backup).

I spent 3 hours trying to figure out how to bring the DB online; I'm afraid I ran out of solutions. Right now I am rebuilding the whole EM Repository using dbca and hope for the best.

Update: dbca finished with no errors. I can now connect with sqlplus and see that all data is there. However, EM still doesn't properly connect. I am getting "Enterprise Manager is not able to connect to the database instance". However, state of components lists:

- Database Instance: Open
- Listener status: UP
- Agent connection to Instance: Succeeded

I can't figure out why EM won't connect. I have this feeling it's a listener misconfiguration, however netca is very limited, just a next-next-next thing.

My listener.ora is below:

SID_LIST_LISTENER =
(SID_LIST =
(SID_DESC =
(GLOBAL_DBNAME = eburlacu)
(ORACLE_HOME = /oracledb/product/11.2.0/dbhome_1)
(SID_NAME = eburlacu)
)
)

LISTENER =
(DESCRIPTION_LIST =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = eburlacu-server.ro.oracle.com)(PORT = 1521))
)
)

ADR_BASE_LISTENER = /oracledb

SUBSCRIBE_FOR_NODE_DOWN_EVENT_LISTENER = OFF

...And why is EM using port 5500?