This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Oct 16, 2012 8:24 AM by 722846 RSS

How to create a DSN for Oracle Provider for OLE DB in a web server

722846 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Dear Guys,

I am a Excel VBA developer.

My requirement is from the Excel I have to call a Stored Procedure with REF CURSOR.

Normally I am using Microsoft ODBC for Oracle Driver for connecting Oracle DB, which is in the Server .
We have users using the Excel reports across the globe.
Sending Excel report is enough, the clients can connect DB from Excel via the DSN created in a web server.

But, I came to know that we can't access the REF CURSOR using Microsoft ODBC for Oracle Driver and it is possible to access by using ORA OLE DB Provider.

I have installed Oracle Client in my machine and tried using ORA OLE DB Provider like below
+con.ConnectionString = "Provider=OraOLEDB.Oracle.1;User ID=user_name;" & _+
+"Password=pwd;Data Source=Oracle;"+

The Excel worked fine in my machine but when I run the same Excel in my user machine in a different country I couldn't connect to DB.
Because the user machine doesn't have Oracle Client installed. We have n number of users across the world and we can't install Oracle client individually.

So, I have the plan of creating a DSN in a web sever as I used for Microsoft ODBC for Oracle Driver.

But, my doubt is how can I create a DSN for accessing ORA OLE DB provider? Is there any driver for ORA OLE DB provider? or is there any alternate solution for my issue?

Can anybody help me on this ASAP?

Thanks & Regards,
Satz
  • 1. Re: How to create a DSN for Oracle Provider for OLE DB in a web server
    Tridus Journeyer
    Normally I wouldn't answer a question with another question, but in this case I don't understand what you're doing.
    user8831681 wrote:
    Sending Excel report is enough, the clients can connect DB from Excel via the DSN created in a web server.