This discussion is archived
10 Replies Latest reply: Oct 11, 2012 5:13 PM by 967605 RSS

(Error in documentation?) Math operator precedence problem

967605 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

I apologize in advance, while I do know programming (I'm a PHP and Perl programmer) I'm fairly new to Java so this may well be a silly question, but that's why I am here. I hope you'll show me where my error is so I can finally set this to rest before it drives me mad :)
(Also, I hope I'm posting this in the right forum?)

So, I am taking a Java class, and the question in the homework related to operand precendence. When dealing with multiplication, division and addition, things were fine, the documentation is clear and it also makes sense math-wise (multiplication comes before addition, etc etc).

However, we got this exercise to solve:

If u=2, v=3, w=5, x=7 and y=11, find the value assuming int variables:

u++ / v+u++ *w

Now, according to the operator precedence table (http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/java/nutsandbolts/operators.html) the unary operator u++ comes first, before multiplication, division and addition.

This would mean I could rewrite the exercise as:

((u+1)/v) + ((u+1)*w) = (3/3) + (4*5) = 1+20 = 21

However, if I run this in Java, the result I get is 15.

I tried breaking up the result for the two values in the Java code, so I could see where the problem is with my calculation.

For
System.out.println(u++ /v);
I get 0

For
System.out.println("u++ *w");
I get 15

My professor suggested I attempt to change the values from int to float, so I can see if the division came out to be something illogical. I did so, and now I get:

For
System.out.println(u++ /v);
I get 0.66667

For
System.out.println("u++ *w");
I get 15.0000