This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 22, 2012 12:11 AM by kgronau RSS

about Oracle Heterogeneous Services and Oracle Gateway

JoeSSI Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

I am very new at this topic, I want to know:
1)Oracle Heterogeneous Services and Oracle Gateway same or not?Need license or not?
2)If want Creating Database Link from Oracle 11g to Sybase AS 15.5 Using Oracle Heterogeneous Services what drivers should I install from my pc(windows 7) and from my server(Linux red hat 5)?please give me link for this
3)Is there any link Step by step to configure odbc until creating dblink?
4)what more convenient, connect sybase from Oracle Heterogeneous Services or Oracle Gateway?

Thank you so much for your help

Regards

JOE
  • 1. Re: about Oracle Heterogeneous Services and Oracle Gateway
    kgronau Guru
    Joe,
    let copy/paste your questions and comment inline:

1)Oracle Heterogeneous Services and Oracle Gateway same or not?Need license or not?
    Let me first clarify one thing, heterogeneous services is the generic mechanism in the Oracle database used by all gateways. The product you are talking about is the Database Gateway for ODBC or the Database Gateway for Sybase.
    The Database Gateway for ODBC is available for Linux and Windows. It is the free product which does not require an Oracle license. The license is included in your database license. It is a generic gateway which allows you to connect with any suitable 3rd party ODBC driver to a matching foreign database. As it is a generic connectivity which aloows you to connect to real databases but also to MS Excel or even Text files as long as you have a suitable ODBC driver, its capability is very limited.