This discussion is archived
13 Replies Latest reply: Dec 13, 2012 12:10 PM by NickRobheart RSS

Basic question

NickRobheart Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,
I'm a DBA aspirant and know what contents I have to cover for DBA course. As I being novice had to cover some prerequisites from Linux and SQL, however quite not sure what basics really required on Linux/SQL to fulfill the course.
So my question is what are the basic contents required in Linux/SQL to get a good command over the subject?
Any information is appreciated.
Thanks in advance
  • 1. Re: Basic question
    Osama_Mustafa Oracle ACE
    Well Reading is good Start , Oracle Documentation lot of example about SQL , and there's courses for Linux Command and online Tutorial that you can use them for free , Add to this There's Course called Linux For DBA (Or Something Like this). Search On Google Will Give lot of option .

Linux :
    http://bit.ly/P7vbGi

SQL:
    http://bit.ly/P7vfG3
  • 2. Re: Basic question
    NickRobheart Newbie
    Hi, getting information on source codes and commands for both Linux and SQL is fine. For the learning part, will it have to be just system basic commands being required or whether or not going into advanced learning is required?
    For example: As in Linux, we do have System Administrations commands or permissions sort of (or) just basic commands to get a hold of it
    Thanks
  • 3. Re: Basic question
    Osama_Mustafa Oracle ACE
    at first beginners command is enough but you need to know exactly how to use these command and make sure how to use them , such as ls , mkdir , cp , mv , ssh , ftp , .... after while from start using these command you by yourself you will getting board and try to learn something new ... actually command not just to save them and i will use them when i need you need to use them to know when you will need them . this is easy to save .
  • 4. Re: Basic question
    Marco V. Expert