This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Dec 6, 2012 2:58 PM by EJP RSS

Simple Questions.

apollon27 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello I am new to Java Programming,
By the way I am a Forms Developer, but I thing it's good to know Java, so I am reading a book that has some exercises,
and I want to make sure if I have answered them correct.

Question 1
State whether each of the following is true or false. If false, explain why.

a) Java operators are evaluated from left to right.
b) The following are all valid variable names: underbar_, m928134, t5, j7, her_sales$,
his_$account_total, a, b$, c, z and z2.
c) A valid Java arithmetic expression with no parentheses is evaluated from left to right.
d) The following are all invalid variable names: 3g, 87, 67h2, h22 and 2h.

I answer

a) False b) True c) True d) False because h22 is valid.

Am I right?

----------------

Question 2

Which of the following Java statements contain variables whose values are modified?
a) p= i+j+ k+7;
b) System.out.println( "variables whose values are modified");
c) System.out.println( "a=5" );
d) value = input.nextInt();

I think a)

-----------------
Question 3

Given that y=ax^3^+ 7, which of the following are correct Java statements for this equation?
a) y= a*x* x*x+7; --> correct
b) y= a*x* x*(x +7 );
c) y= (a*x )*x* (x+7 );
d) y= (a*x )*x* x+7; ---> correct
e) y= a*(x xx )+7; ---> correct
f) y= a*x* (x*x +7 );

Thank you.
  • 1. Re: Simple Questions.
    EJP Guru
    I answer

a) False b) True c) True d) False because h22 is valid.

Am I right?
    Nearly. (C) is false. Consider a+b*c.
    Question 2

I think a)
    Also (d). 'value' is modified.
    Question 3

Given that y=ax^3^+ 7
    Given what? This formula must contain a typo. Question 3 is therefore unanswerable.
  • 2. Re: Simple Questions.
    rp0428 Guru
    >
    I am reading a book that has some exercises,
    and I want to make sure if I have answered them correct.
    >