This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Nov 5, 2012 7:41 AM by Mehabub Sheikh RSS

APEX Listener with Free environment

Mehabub Sheikh Journeyer
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I was going through APEX Listener Installation guide and found that the supported installations are
*1) with WebLogic*
*2) Glassfish &*
*3) OC4J*

All of the above are associated with licensing cost. Is there any free installation scenario? As 11gXE is free to store upto 11GB of user data, I was thinking to install it with Glassfish for my small application which is not expected to have 11GB of user data over the next 4-5 years. Today I had a chat with one of the local Oracle Sales guy and I found that licensing cost is huge for Glassfish.

I don't know whether standalone APEX Listener will serve the purpose of having my application available over the internet. Please forgive me; I am a novice in the field of networking.
Could you please provide me the details of the free or low cost alternatives of the above scenarios? One option I know is to go for hosting services for low cost. But to me that is also huge.
Any kind of help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Mehabub
  • 1. Re: APEX Listener with Free environment
    Prabodh Guru
    Hi,
    I was going through APEX Listener Installation guide and found that the supported installations are
    1) with WebLogic
    2) Glassfish &
    3) OC4J

All of the above are associated with licensing cost. Is there any free installation scenario? As 11gXE is free to store upto 11GB of user data, I was thinking to install it with Glassfish for my small application which is not expected to have 11GB of user data over the next 4-5 years. Today I had a chat with one of the local Oracle Sales guy and I found that licensing cost is huge for Glassfish.

I don't know whether standalone APEX Listener will serve the purpose of having my application available over the internet. Please forgive me; I am a novice in the field of networking.