4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 6, 2012 4:13 AM by Rahul_India RSS

Modeling months by years

ltps
      Hello, everyone - I am new to the SQL model clause and have succeeded with some basics but am struggling to get to the next stage of learning with a requirement to list sums by month (across) and years (down), as in a spreadsheet.

I have dummied up some data in the WITH clause below. The dummy date is limited to a single year and cost center (for real, I will have multiple years and multiple cost centers, but I think I would be able to handle that). The goal is to list years as rows and months as columns with amounts in the cells. The SQL below works, but it feels wrong, and worse like I don't even understand the rules construction. The DISTINCT especially feels like a cheat. Here is the desired result (for one year only, ignoring the one cost center, for now):

YEAR     JAN     FEB     MAR     APR     MAY     JUN     JUL     AUG     SEP     OCT     NOV     DEC
      2012     100     300     600     1000     1500     2100     2800     3600     4500     5500     6600     7800

On one topic in particular I would really like to get some clarification: with my real data (replacing the dummy data in the WITH clause), I have use windowing to create a running sum by month, which is the result I seek in the spreadsheet presentation, going across rather than down. Is this the wrong approach altogether? Should the accumulating sum rather be handled in the modeling rules?

Go ahead, tell me how dumb my attempt is, I can take it and learn! Thank you for your help.

WITH t AS (
      SELECT 2012 AS period_year, 1234 AS cost_center, 'JAN' AS period_month, 1 AS period_number, 100 AS month_amount, 100 AS cumulative_amount FROM dual UNION
      SELECT 2012 AS period_year, 1234 AS cost_center, 'FEB' AS period_month, 2 AS period_number, 200 AS month_amount, 300 AS cumulative_amount FROM dual UNION