This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Nov 8, 2012 3:13 PM by 973312 RSS

Questions about creating plugin_stage directory and creating the plugin

973312 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new with EM and am working on creating an EM plugin to monitor our web application by using JMX. I already have a very simple mbean server running and have generated very simple metadata and default_collection files. The next step should be to convert those files to an Oracle Plug-in Archive (OPAR), but before creating the OPAR, I seem need to create the plug-in stage directory which have various sub-directories and files. I searched the whole Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control Extensibility Programer's Reference 12c Release 2 (12.1.0.2) and Programer's Guide as well as online, I couldn't find how the plugin_stage is created. I hope there must be a way to create that directory, or manually creating it will be tedious. Any pointer will be highly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
-JC
  • 1. Re: Questions about creating plugin_stage directory and creating the plugin
    jriel Newbie
    In your case if you have only target and collection metadata you only need to do the following:

mkdir -p stage/oms/metadata/targetType
    mkdir -p stage/oms/metadata/default_collection
    mkdir -p stage/agent/metadata
    mkdir -p stage/agent/default_collection

! create plugin.xml in stage/, and plugin_registry in stage/agent
    ! place target metadata in stage/oms/metadata/targetType and stage/agent/metadata
    ! place collection metadata in stage/oms/metadata/default_collection and stage/agent/default_collection
  • 2. Re: Questions about creating plugin_stage directory and creating the plugin
    973312 Newbie
    Thanks jreil! That's very helpful for me to move on!