This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Nov 25, 2012 1:35 PM by 960968 RSS

Generate multiple GridPanes using SceneBuilder

960968 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
HI All,
I am new to javaFX, and very happy with SceneBuilder to create a TabPane content which includes a GridPane which I use it to display contents of record from a search, such as name, address, phone number etc. My TabPane content also has other componets such as standalone text, VBox with some other componets inside. My current setup works perfectly and the GridPane will show all the componet fields and values within its structure.

My question is my search routine will return mutiple (dynamic such as 1 to n) records, which I need to show them all in sequence preferrably using the same GridPane arrangement as I discussed earlier.

I struggled with understanding the FXML file and its controller trying to extend the FXML file ScendBuilder generated, and unable to generate additional Grandpanes, and show them in sequence (which I think can increment the SetlayoutY() value).

Can somebody shed some light to help me solve my problem? using the FXML from SceneBuilder is certainly preferred as I also invested time with other TabPanes. But I am also comfortable to re-do my GUI in code instead of using ScenBuilder.

Thanks in advance.

Ron
  • 1. Re: Generate multiple GridPanes using SceneBuilder
    bouye Journeyer
    My guess is that you are trying to do something similar to:
    VBox personVBox = VBoxBuilder.create().build()
    for (Person person : queryResult) {
      GridPane personPane = (GridPane)fxmlLoader.load();
      PersonPaneController controller = (personNode)fxmlLoader.getController();
      controller.setPerson(person);
      personVBox.getChildren().add(personPane);
    }
    ScrollPane personTabContent = ScrollPaneBuilder.create().node(personVBox).build();
    personTab.setContent(personTabContent);