This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Nov 16, 2012 3:06 AM by fac586 RSS

Sum on Interactive Report.

LéoVic Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello, I've created an Interactive Report the contains a colummun whith hours like that "15:00"
and I'm having a problem to sum this on the end of report.

Someone have any ideia how i can do that?

Thaks everybody!

Edited by: LéoVic on 14/11/2012 07:40
  • 1. Re: Sum on Interactive Report.
    Howard (... in Training) Pro
    Hello,

Welcome. You seem to be new. (Hey, I'm a novice myself.) And what kind of a system as we talking about. The solution might differ depending although in this case, I don't think it matters?

- Oracle version
    - APEX version -
    - Web server architecture
    - Browser(s) used -
    - Theme(s) used -
    - Templates used -

Now let me understand what you want . I suppose you have tried setting the "Compute Sum" selection to Yes for the Column Definiition for the column item. And I suppose you got an error because the data is not numeric? Problem is, 15:00 is a character string and not a number in the usual sense of a number. Now 15.00 is a number. This may be overdoing it --- but since no one else is dropping in -- how about creating a hidding column where you convert these times to hours (i.e., numbers) and then you can sum that column. But I don't know how to tell you to do that. And I've spent 30 minutes looking for a simple example of how to sum columns and found exactly none. I even went to Safari books and looked there. Surely, there must be one but what keywords are needed to find it?

>
    {Gripe}I find APEX much like the discoverer of an ancient machine must feel. There's no complete manual. You know you've found a wonderful thing but you're not quite sure how it's supposed to work.{Gripe}
    >

Good luck!
    Howard
  • 2. Re: Sum on Interactive Report.
    LéoVic Newbie
    Hi Howard, tanks for your attention,