This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Nov 19, 2012 10:59 PM by spajdy RSS

Replicate one schema to another in same database

Neal Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi All,

We have a requirement in our data warehouse where we have to replicate one schema to another in closer to real-time at a specific time of the day.

We run the incremental ETL's to Schema A in Database X, this process takes about 2 hours and brings 1-2GB data from scorce systems.
Schema A has total 350 GB size datafiles.

After this process completes, we want to move all the changed data into Schema B in Database X (same database, different schema) with minimal downtime to end users who runs reports in Schema B.

Since I'm not a DBA expert, I wondering the 11g streams (DBMS_STREAMS_ADM.MAINTAIN_SCHEMAS) can help to archive this.

Please share your thoughts, recommendations and any examples would be helpful.

Thanks in advance!

Nils.
  • 1. Re: Replicate one schema to another in same database
    Justin Cave Oracle ACE
    Are you doing some additional ETL between schema A and schema B? If not, why do you need to have two copies of the same data in the same database? Why not simply use views/ synonyms/ materiailized views/ etc. in schema B that reference data in schema A?

Justin
  • 2. Re: Replicate one schema to another in same database
    Neal Newbie
    Thanks Justin,

Basically purpose is to minimise the downtime to end user. When you do ETL's data keep changing, if user's run reports during ETL, reports will give inaccurate figures/totals. So if end user's will be running queries in schema B, they will not see any change until the ETL completes.

We expects replication to be faster(< 10 min's) than the ETL run (2 hrs).

Using synonyms/views would not be answer.

Any suggestion using streams?
  • 3. Re: Replicate one schema to another in same database
    spajdy Pro