14 Replies Latest reply: Jun 25, 2013 10:33 AM by madhatter RSS

using email notification service in OIM 11GR2

Hello OIM 11GR2 experts,

can you please provide me example for using NotificationService and NotificationEvent. I just want to send sample email to a user from system account xelsysadm... I am very new to this topic. Appreciate your help.

I have created notification event and set values as shown below :

template : "Reset Password" -- actually I need to use existing template and do not want to create new one.

userIDs : "My User login"
      sender : "xelsysadm" -- not sure how to set in generic way

then I called notificationService.notify(event).

Looks like something is missing. because I am getting :

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException
           at java.util.HashMap.putAll(HashMap.java:498)
           at oracle.iam.notification.impl.NotificationServiceImpl.getMessageContent(NotificationServiceImpl.java:324)
           at oracle.iam.notification.impl.NotificationServiceImpl.notify(NotificationServiceImpl.java:537)
           at oracle.iam.notification.impl.NotificationServiceImpl.notify(NotificationServiceImpl.java:271)
           at sun.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor11126.invoke(Unknown Source)
           at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
           at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
           at org.springframework.aop.support.AopUtils.invokeJoinpointUsingReflection(AopUtils.java:307)
           at org.springframework.aop.framework.ReflectiveMethodInvocation.invokeJoinpoint(ReflectiveMethodInvocation.java:182)
           at org.springframework.aop.framework.ReflectiveMethodInvocation.proceed(ReflectiveMethodInvocation.java:149)
           at oracle.iam.platform.utils.DMSMethodInterceptor.invoke(DMSMethodInterceptor.java:25)
           at org.springframework.aop.framework.ReflectiveMethodInvocation.proceed(ReflectiveMethodInvocation.java:171)