This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Dec 13, 2012 12:10 AM by Nicolas Wipfli - Oracle RSS

Storage Array 2530 - 36 @ 2TB HDD -  RAID6

971208 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello!

I have my Array up and running using the CAM software but I have a concern and I have little experience and trouble finding documentation on the issues..

I have a 36 SATA disk 2TB setup, with 3 hot spares. 1x3

My first issue is when creating the Volume/Virtual Disk Etc. It only seems to allow me to use 30 disk drives even though the other 3 are listed as Unassigned.. Is there a limitation to Raid 6 I am unaware of?

My second concern is the initialization time of about 510 Hours.. the job is increasing about 3% per day, does this seem right? The array is not reporting any issues and the firmware was updated.

Again, your support and help is always appreciated.

Regards and Thanks.

Ash

REHL 6.2 RD240 64 bit
  • 1. Re: Storage Array 2530 - 36 @ 2TB HDD -  RAID6
    Nicolas Wipfli - Oracle Expert
    Hello,

The firmware is designed to limit 30 drives in your vdisk, regardless the RAID level. This is for the 2500 series.
    The initialization increasing 3% a day is definitively not normal, however I do not know what is the issue. Such investigation would require debug data.

Regards
    Nicolas
  • 2. Re: Storage Array 2530 - 36 @ 2TB HDD -  RAID6
    971208 Newbie
    Thanks For the Reply!

Well that def answers my first question.

Noob here, how do I get this debug data?

Cheers,
  • 3. Re: Storage Array 2530 - 36 @ 2TB HDD -  RAID6
    See the document "Collecting Sun Storage Common Array Manager Array Support Data (Doc ID 1002514.1)" on My Oracle Support. It explains how to collect a supportdata which will need to be analyzed by an Oracle support engineer.

Regards
    Nicolas
  • 4. Re: Storage Array 2530 - 36 @ 2TB HDD -  RAID6
    800381 Explorer
    OK, a bit off-topic, but a 36 drive RAID volume?!?!!?