This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Nov 16, 2012 7:01 AM by 974290 RSS

What do I need to install?

974290 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
OK, I am an Oracle newbie here, so go easy on me. Here at my job I just got a new computer and I need to figure out what Oracle products I need to install in order to continue doing my work.

My new PC is a 64-bit Windows 7 desktop computer. It has Crystal Reports 2008 and Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate. Visual Studio also has Crystal Reports for Visual Studio installed. The work I do has me writing reports against the database our vendor-supplied software uses, which is an Oracle 10g database (I believe). I know that I currently use the Oracle 10g client on my old computer (32-bit Windows 7) to connect to this database.

In addition to running reports, I also have custom written console applications written in C# which query this Oracle database. It does this by referencing the Oracle.DataAccess DLL file. The version of that DLL is 10.2.0.100.

Now, my assumption was that I needed the Oracle Client installed, and since I was using the 10g client before, I looked for this again but in a 64-bit compatible version. It does not appear that this exists, or it did at one point and does not anymore. So I tried instead to use the 64-bit compatible version for 11g. I managed to get that installed and used the info from my old tnsnames.ora file to set up connections to my old production and development databases, but that was all the further I could get. I believe I also need something called Oracle Data Access installed as well, but I couldn't seem to find the right version of that.