This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Nov 17, 2012 4:57 AM by joehoot RSS

non-dba sysadmin trying to get APEX 4.2 working

joehoot Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

I am a sysadmin who thinks APEX would do him good for various projects that I'm sick of relying on Excel for. So, I'm on my way to installing it. I've attempted a fresh install three times now by following the documentation. I've installed OL5.8 + UEK kernel, run all the prereqs for Oracle 11.2.0.3 Enterprise Edition database, run oracle-validated-verify (just to make sure), install 11.2.0.3 database. go through some steps to make sure I can connect to the database (btw, I never use Oracle.. I'm used to mysql from other LAMP stuff.. but since we have a show of about 10-15 Oracle DBA's, I'm guessing they can help me a bit more), I then proceed with the APEX documentation.

When I finish with the install and go to create my workspace by hitting http://localhost:8080/apex/apex_admin I get connected. I get some sort of unique id created and the url is now "http://localhost:8080/apex/f?p=4550:10:6151872728391". So something is answering and attempting to do something. The title of the browser is also now set to "Application Express Administration Services" but nothing shows up in the browser body (at list visibly). If I right click an view source, I can see lots of javascript and other code. So I know that it's attempting to do something.

The one thing I noticed that may not have worked correctly in the documentation is this step:

`@apex_epg_config.sql /tmp`

I ran that and saw the following error:

ERROR at line 1:
ORA-22288: file or LOB operation FILEOPEN failed
No such file or directory
ORA-06512: at "SYS.XMLTYPE", line 296
ORA-06512: at line 18