This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Nov 19, 2012 6:13 AM by 974727 RSS

Removing offline Datafile

974727 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

(Total noob please help)

Regarding Oracle 11g

A co-worker added a datafile to a tablespace, however he didn't like what he had named it, so he placed that datafile offline, and created another.

So now, I have a tablespace named "Data" with three datafiles associated with it:
"Data01.dbf" online,
"Data02.dbf", online
"Data02", offline

I tried logging in to sqlplus sys as sysdba and running.

"Alter tablespace data drop datafile "c:\location\data02";

but that didn't work, gives me the error that the data file must be online in order to drop it.
I tried "Place online" using Oracle enterprise manager but it gives me an error.
ORA-01113: file 32 needs media recovery ORA-01110: data file 32: 'c:\location\DATA02' .

How do I remove the file from the system?
  • 1. Re: Removing offline Datafile
    sb92075 Guru
    971724 wrote:
    Hello,

(Total noob please help)

Regarding Oracle 11g

A co-worker added a datafile to a tablespace, however he didn't like what he had named it, so he placed that datafile offline, and created another.

So now, I have a tablespace named "Data" with three datafiles associated with it:
    "Data01.dbf" online,
    "Data02.dbf", online
    "Data02", offline

I tried logging in to sqlplus sys as sysdba and running.

"Alter tablespace data drop datafile "c:\location\data02";

but that didn't work, gives me the error that the data file must be online in order to drop it.
    I tried "Place online" using Oracle enterprise manager but it gives me an error.
    ORA-01113: file 32 needs media recovery ORA-01110: data file 32: 'c:\location\DATA02' .

How do I remove the file from the system?
    with *MUCH* difficulty!

create new tablespace
    move all objects from DATA tablespace to new TS
    drop data tablespace including datafiles.
  • 2. Re: Removing offline Datafile