This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Nov 22, 2012 3:18 PM by user567271 RSS

Can applications share the same Oracel Spatial db?

user567271 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am a DBA however am not familiar with Oracle Spatial. I know that on Oracle db spatial info is stored in MDSYS objects. Just wonder if it is possible to have two seperare applications sharing the same Oracle SID that has Spatial option installed? Would that cause any conflicts (since the applications share the same set of MDSYS objects)? Note that the applications have nothing to do with each other and use difefrent Oracle db usernames.

Thanks
  • 1. Re: Can applications share the same Oracel Spatial db?
    Simon Greener Journeyer
    Oracle spatial is a set of data types and functionality that is akin to an Oracle Date + Arithmetic.

There are no more substantive issues that would affect more than one application accessing an Oracle spatial database than would occur when multiple applications share any other database.

regards
    Simon
  • 2. Re: Can applications share the same Oracel Spatial db?
    user567271 Newbie
    Thanks Simon. We have a number of Oracle SID that are shared by different appls, and for each appl I created a separate tablespace so it has its own area in the database.

With a spatial db where users share the same set of MDSYS tables, just wonder if the tables store user information along with data in a row? That is, if I do an datapump export for a schema, would the export dmp file contains rows in MDSYS tables that belong to the specified schema?

Sorry about the basic question, but I plan to read and play with Oracle spatial to understand it more.
  • 3. Re: Can applications share the same Oracel Spatial db?
    Simon Greener Journeyer