This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply: Nov 22, 2012 9:12 PM by BillyVerreynne RSS

oracle listener confusion

user521233 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
sorry but i'm a bit of a noob with database administration.

i have a windows 7 box with an oracle 11g database. i was wanting to create a new listener to listen for requests on the machines ip address. traditionally the database is down and i go into windows services and start the database and listener from there.

i created new listener using Oracle Net Configuration Assistant and noticed in the windows services list. then i deleted it using the same tool.

i created a new listener using Oracle Enterprise Manager, did not notice it in the windows services list but understand that it is dynamically created? either way... i deleted it.

now, the funny thing is that i have a second listener in windows services list. i'm unable to see it using Oracle Net Configuration Assistant. the ususal listener in that list is started. Oracle Enterprise Manager only sees one listener and is unable to start it. i'm able to connect to the database using sqlplus.

i'm a little confused...

can i delete the listener that i can't start in Oracle Enterprise Manager to see if it rids me of the extra listener in the windows services list? why can't OEM see the started listener from the windows services list?

thanks for any direction in the matter.
  • 1. Re: oracle listener confusion
    sb92075 Guru
    user521233 wrote:
    sorry but i'm a bit of a noob with database administration.

i have a windows 7 box with an oracle 11g database. i was wanting to create a new listener to listen for requests on the machines ip address. traditionally the database is down and i go into windows services and start the database and listener from there.

i created new listener using Oracle Net Configuration Assistant and noticed in the windows services list. then i deleted it using the same tool.