This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Nov 22, 2012 6:32 AM by KwesiAryee RSS

How can i populate the Jcombobox with the data from my jpa list? Desperate

KwesiAryee Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I need to populate my jcombobox with data from my jpa. This is my first time trying this and i just need some sample or a quick solution to this. Thanks in advance

<code>
public static MyNames myNames() {
EntityManagerFactory emf = Persistence.createEntityManagerFactory("JavaTrialsPU");
EntityManager em = emf.createEntityManager();
em.getTransaction().begin();
Query q = em.createNamedQuery("MyNames.findAll");
MyNames n = (MyNames) q.getResultList();
return n;
}

public static void myCombo() {       
comboBox = new JComboBox(????--how can i make the jcombobox display my myNames() list--?????);
frame.add(comboBox, BorderLayout.PAGE_START);
}
</code>
  • 1. Re: How can i populate the Jcombobox with the data from my jpa list? Desperate
    gimbal2 Guru
    Implement toString() on your entity to return whatever you want to use as a label for the combobox.

Your need for quick solutions is very destructive to your learning process. In stead take the time and read around a little. Swing happens to have an excellent tutorial with many example programs readily available for you to pick through:

http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/uiswing/

And PS: you need to use \