8 Replies Latest reply: Nov 24, 2012 12:52 AM by mBk77 RSS

How to work on a fresh database

Hi,

i am a plsql developer, i have been given to work on a new/fresh database, they given me(in technical document) 4 tables to create and write some stored procedures.

i am not a dba and i am not aware of creating table spaces.

my question is do i need to really create any table spaces, or can i go with the defaul one?

Please suggest what precautions i can take before createing tables writing procedures.

and also how i can give database connection to the front end application to call the stored procedures.

Thanks,
      Vinod
        • 1. Re: How to work on a fresh database
          Aman....
          910575 wrote:
          Hi,

i am a plsql developer, i have been given to work on a new/fresh database, they given me(in technical document) 4 tables to create and write some stored procedures.

my question is do i need to really create any table spaces, or can i go with the defaul one?

Please suggest what precautions i can take before createing tables writing procedures.

and also how i can give database connection to the front end application to call the stored procedures.
          You said you are asked to create tables not tablespaces . Let's talk about one thing at one time. So first thing is, what you are supposed to do, create tables or tablespaces? What's the database version of yours?

Aman....
          • 2. Re: How to work on a fresh database
            Hi Aman,

Thanks for your quick response.

I am the whole and sole for the database development. I have never worked on a fresh database, and i dont have dba knowledge. i have worked on plsql coding and support kind of activities.

my question is do i need to create tables space or not before going to create tables and writing stored procedures? and are there any other dba activities that i should do?

Thanks,
            Vinod
            • 3. Re: How to work on a fresh database
              Fran