This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Nov 26, 2012 2:03 AM by 943589 RSS

Stateless vs Stateful beans

970232 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am new to Java EE and EJB 3, so many concepts are not clear to me.

I've read somewhere that Stateless beans in Java do not keep their state between two calls from the client, unlike Stateful session beans which do keep state.

I created my first bean, I first used @Stateless annotation and then @stateful annotation, and it seems it is having the same behavior.

This is the session bean:
@Stateless
public class HelloWorldBean implements IHelloWorldLocal {
    private int number = 1;

@Override
    public int add(Integer number) {
        this.number += number;
        return this.number;
    }

}
I wrote a servlet to invoke session bean add method this way:

out.println("The result is " + helloWorld.add(2));
            out.println("The result is " + helloWorld.add(3));
            out.println("The result is " + helloWorld.add(4));
The results after these three invocations are 3, 6, 10. As far as I am concerned, results should be 3, 4 and 5 based on the concept that the Stateless beans don't keep state.

If I switch this bean to be a Stateful one, I get the same results.

What have I missed here?

Thanks in advance for your time and help.
  • 1. Re: Stateless vs Stateful beans
    gimbal2 Guru
    967229 wrote:
    What have I missed here?
    The fundamental understanding of it. Anyone can produce some code and make things do stuff. But you still don't understand it.

I recommend the book Enterprise Javabeans 3.1 to actually gain the understanding you need. EJB is a tough subject matter comfortably hidden under a seemingly simple API layer. You gain more by understanding and learning what problem you actually solve than by investigating what the technology can do.
  • 2. Re: Stateless vs Stateful beans
    970232 Newbie
    Hi,

Thanks for your answer.