This discussion is archived
12 Replies Latest reply: Nov 29, 2012 3:10 PM by 801904 RSS

comma and quote separated tokens

801904 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
hello everyone

I am new to Java.... So my apologies if this is old question (if so a pointer to the solution would be great!)

I am reading a CSV flat-file of string values separated by (either or) commas or a combination of comma's and double quotes, with spaces optionally present between separators.

The double-quotes also need to be escaped whenever there are two of them together i.e. "[hello ""world""]" becomes [hello "world"]

i can't seem to get the correct Regex formula to handle all cases, it handles some but not others.... and rapidly becomes unreadable too.... 8^)

what is the best/most efficient way of reading and splitting such CSV flat file into a collection of individual strings?

is there a standard Java6/7 API that can do it or do I have to hand-code it ?

example:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
hello, "this,is column 2",this is col3 ,"1",col4,"col5", "col7 ", this, is more, "[ "" ]"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this needs to be broken into separate Strings:

hello
this,is column 2 *(note embeded comma)*
this is col3
col4
col5
col7
this
is more
["]

--
Finally, the files can be rather large, many GB in size and the number of columns in each line will NOT be the same i.e. some lines will have 1 or 2 tokens and others in the same file may have 100 tokens....

Many thanks in advance
Yuri
  • 1. Re: comma and quote separated tokens
    EJP Guru
    I'd be surprised if you could handle quotes correctly with a single regular expression. In compilers it requires hand coding.
  • 2. Re: comma and quote separated tokens
    gimbal2 Guru
    EJP wrote:
    I'd be surprised if you could handle quotes correctly with a single regular expression. In compilers it requires hand coding.