This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Nov 27, 2012 2:31 AM by 976188 RSS

Oracle Streams for 10 databases

976188 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all!

I'd like to use Streams to establish replication among 10 databases. Is this possible?

Also OEM's giving me a problem in configuring Oracle Streams. I'm new to Oracle and I'd appreciate it if someone can guide me in this matter. The versionIi'm using right now is Oracle 11g r2.

Thank you.
  • 1. Re: Oracle Streams for 10 databases
    Fran Guru
    http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B28359_01/server.111/b28324/tdpii_repcont.htm
  • 2. Re: Oracle Streams for 10 databases
    Osama_Mustafa Oracle ACE
    Yes it will work , Oracle Stream need lot of configuration ,since you have user, jobs ,Capture and apply process on each site, enable some package on database , include to all this you must have check your network before going with replication solution .
    if you are going for replication solution go With Golden Gate .

How to Setup Oracle Stream :
    http://apunhiran.blogspot.com/2009/07/how-to-setup-up-of-oracle-streams.html

Golden Gate
    http://www.oracle.com/us/corporate/acquisitions/goldengate/index.html
  • 3. Re: Oracle Streams for 10 databases
    JohnWatson Guru
    Replication between 10 databases is possible but extremely awkward. If it is uni-directional, with DML occuring at only site, it is feasible. But if DML can occur anywhere, it will be almost impossible to keep it working reliably unless the volume of changes is very low. You will need to consider conflict resolution rules very carefully. In some circumstances, you may find that Advanced Replication is actually better than Streams: the underlying technology may be slower, but conflict resoluition can sometimes be better.