This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply: Dec 11, 2012 4:22 AM by 847540 RSS

SAP and session_cached_cursors

847540 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

First of all, i'm new to SAP so please forgive me if I post something wrong :)

In the SAP documentation (Note 912389 - Cursor parameters on Oracle) i read the following about SESSION_CACHED_CURSORS:
"Use in the SAP environment:
Since each SQL statement is opened only once and the cursor is kept open in the standard system, you do not need to cache cursors at session level for a repeated parsing. There is no point, therefore, in setting SESSION_CACHED_CURSORS to a value greater than 0."

After reading other documentations i understand that the cursors are cached by Oracle in the shared area even without session_cached_cursors set, and because SAP works with a fixed pool of connections (1 SAP session uses a free oracle connection from the pool whenever it needs one, so you can be using all the sessions in a mixed way) there is no benefit in setting session_cached_cursors.

But i'm not sure if I understand correctly because i would think that, even with a connection pool, there would be a whole lot of cursors which can be cached at session level afterall because the same oracle sessions are going to be used more than once so it could be that the cached cursors in the fixed oracle session are beneficial for the "SAP request" at that time.

We would probably have the same cursor cached at multiple sessions then, but regardless of the "wasted" memory wouldn't that be faster than setting session_cached_cursors to 0 and using the shared cursor cache ??

We are working with 10.2.0.4 and 11.2.0.3 databases.

Thanks in advance!
  • 1. Re: SAP and session_cached_cursors
    Osama_Mustafa Oracle ACE
    Check
    http://osamamustafa.blogspot.com/2012/11/opencursor-in-oracle.html
  • 2. Re: SAP and session_cached_cursors
    847540 Newbie
    Hi,