This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply: Dec 6, 2012 12:48 AM by 965124 RSS

B Publisher 11G guest login issue

965124 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello All,

Tired of searching the poor documentation of Oracle BIP, I have reached this forum for some help

I changed the catalog type in BIP so that BIP does not share the catalog of OBIEE anymore. I restarted the server after this. This enabled the check box to set the guest folder name.
The problem is that I am not able to see the Shared folders any more. If I log in as an administrator, I am only allowed to create the folders in my own folders. So basically, I am not able to create a guest folder. When I login as guest, I am not able to see any folders

Any help is appretiated

Regards
  • 1. Re: B Publisher 11G guest login issue
    335900 Newbie
    What is your security model ?
    If you use Fusion Middleware Security Model, please make sure that you assign correct catalog permissions on your share folders.

See below for catalog permissions details:

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E21043_01/bi.1111/e13880/T539768T526688.htm#T565061
  • 2. Re: B Publisher 11G guest login issue
    965124 Newbie
    Hello hidekoji,

Thanks for your reply

The documentation given by you , under 'Granting Catalog Permissions' heading says that permissions cannot be granted on the shared folder.

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E21043_01/bi.1111/e13880/T526682T559093.htm#biag_2 documentation under 'Granting the BIAdministrator Role Catalog Permissions' heading says that before a BIAdministrator can manage Shared Folders the BIAdministrator role must grant to the BIAdministrator role Write and Delete permissions on the Shared Folders node.

The point is that how can anyone give permission on a folder if the folder is not visible. Again as pointed out earlier, the documentation clearly says that Permissions cannot be granted on the root Shared folder.