8 Replies Latest reply: Dec 6, 2012 6:39 AM by EdStevens RSS

Choosing a career path for a PL/SQL developer

Hello all,
      I have been working as a PL/SQL developer for 2 yrs now. I have enjoyed and gained enough knowledge on oracle sql and pl/sql. Now I am trying to choose an advanced career path in oracle. Can any body provide any ideas please? I am confused.

FYI:
      I really enjoy programming.
      I also have experience in ETL.

Thanks a ton
      --Santosh

Edited by: 828888 on Dec 5, 2012 8:02 PM
        • 1. Re: Choosing a career path for a PL/SQL developer
          Aman....
          828888 wrote:
          Hello all,
          I have been working as a PL/SQL developer for 2 yrs now. I have enjoyed and gained enough knowledge on oracle sql and pl/sql. Now I am trying to choose an advanced career path in oracle. Can any body provide any ideas please? I am confused.

FYI:

Thanks a ton
          --Santosh
          Hmm become a team lead if you think you have done it enough in the pl/sql programming career already as a developer?

On a serious note, not sure what you are asking us to reply. It would completely depend on your location , company and the projects that you are working with. May be I shall sound rude but I won't consider myself to go from basic level to advanced in just a two year of time span. I shall wait for about 4-5 years before I shall start thinking about advanced anything. To answer your question, you may want to learn a little about database and use that knowledge to write better code and also to troubleshoot and tune your code if possible. You can learn about datawarehouse concepts and get into the BI world. There can be too many options but a lot of them would be requiring you to hand pick them rather than someone suggesting them to you.

Just my 2 cents.

Aman....
          • 2. Re: Choosing a career path for a PL/SQL developer
            Billy~Verreynne
            828888 wrote: