This discussion is archived
13 Replies Latest reply: Dec 7, 2012 6:27 AM by david howard RSS

New to Oracle DBA

david howard Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Recently I've been thrust (kicking and screaming) into a role of DBA. My supervisor has put me through the Oracle Sys Admin Workshops I&II, but that is a starting point; it seemed that many of the features that were touched upon are not being used in our environment (ASM,AMM,RMAN,EM) which makes my life less fun!
My job now is to monitor the database for any performance issues, proactive failure avoidance, backup and restore (the BU/R is handled by NetBackup/BCV with Symmetrix disk mirroring between).

I've been a systems administrator for many years, and I've been able to script a few health checks outside of the DB; at the OS level. I am beginning to look into some of the v$ views that allow me to see what is happening in our system.
I have a couple of generalized questions I'd like to pose (if I need a seperate thread for each question let me know and I'll repost):
1. How do I determine what features are being used by the database (outside of the features mentioned earlier)?
2. What should I be monitoring on a <interval> basis (hourly, daily, monthly)?
3. What should I be looking for when I monitor? (right now i look at the alert log every day for "ORA-" entries and send alerts...)

I'm sure I'll have many many more questions, but these are the ones I have on my mind at the current time.
I apologize for the generality of my questions, I'm sure we'll get more granular as the discussion continues.

We are running the following:
Oracle 11gR2 in HA mode (Veritas clustering NOT oracle clustering or grid control) running on Solaris 10...
Thanks in advance for helping me understand this complex beast!
  • 1. Re: New to Oracle DBA
    sb92075 Guru
    http://docs.oracle.com

Start by Reading The Fine Manual, Concepts Manual
  • 2. Re: New to Oracle DBA
    moreajays Pro
    I have written this for You !!