This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Dec 17, 2012 9:41 PM by bigdelboy RSS

E250 Keyboard

980113 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all. I'm new to the world of SUN servers. I just picked up an old E250 server from my school's surplus department. My plan is to put linux on it, and use it as a box just to mess around with a little. The problem I've run into is that I don't have a keyboard for the machine. I've worked with sun before, but not much. I was thinking that they just used a different keyboard connector so the mouse and keyboard could be routed through a single connection. I now know that this is not the case, and that sun keyboards and mice are different altogether. My question is, then, is there some way I can hook a standard PS/2 keyboard up to it (does anyone make a converter), or is there some way I can install linux without a keyboard through some sort of serial console? Again, I'm still very new to SUN hardware. Thanks in advance.
  • 1. Re: E250 Keyboard
    rukbat Guru Moderator
    Each of these questions has been discussed many times in these forum over the years, but (admittedly) they're scattered across many many posts and scattered across about ten years of various posts.
    977110 wrote:
    Hi all. I'm new to the world of SUN servers. I just picked up an old E250 server from my school's surplus department. My plan is to put linux on it,
    Don't.
    There isn't a usable Linux distro available that will run on that UltraSPARC cpu design. You might be able to find an old Debian fork but you'll be sorely disappointed. Go back to your school and ask them if they still have the CD's for whatever Solaris they used to run on it (Solaris 7 or Solaris 8 or Solaris 9). Your E250 is a hardware design from 1997 that first shipped to customers in 1998. Expect to use an OS from that same era.