This discussion is archived
14 Replies Latest reply: Dec 21, 2012 5:23 AM by piratolo RSS

Event Dispatching Thread

piratolo Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,
I'm a beginner java student and I'm having problem understanding how to manage the Event Dispatching Thread.

I read a lot of stuff on the internet; but i didn't find anything written in italian (my language), so I'm afraid i didn't understand well what i read.

Sure enough, I haven't still understood where to put the run() methos and how to call it.

I should set the text in a JLABEL after clicking on a JButton; where should i put the run() method with the JLabel.setText("bla bla") instruction? in the actionPerformed() method of my JButton?

After a lot of attempts i still havent get it. :(

Thank for yout help.

Edited by: piratolo on 18-dic-2012 0.54
  • 1. Re: Event Dispatching Thread
    Kayaman Guru
    piratolo wrote:
    I should set the text in a JLABEL after clicking on a JButton; where should i put the run() method with the JLabel.setText("bla bla") instruction? in the actionPerformed() method of my JButton?
    You don't need a run() method. You can set the text in actionPerformed, since you're already on the EDT. It's when you're outside the EDT that you need to use invokeLater().
  • 2. Re: Event Dispatching Thread
    piratolo Newbie
    Why am I already on the EDT? Because setText() method is managed automatically by the EDT?
  • 3. Re: Event Dispatching Thread
    gimbal2 Guru
    piratolo wrote:
    Why am I already on the EDT? Because setText() method is managed automatically by the EDT?
    No, listeners and events happen on the EDT. So when you're doing things and stuff in actionPerformed() (which is part of a listener) you can be sure its happening on the EDT.
  • 4. Re: Event Dispatching Thread
    piratolo Newbie
    Good! This means that I didnt understand anything about edt. :(
    Then what is edt useful for? When have I to use it?