9 Replies Latest reply: Dec 27, 2012 3:10 AM by 866711 RSS

Unfriendly api?

As a seasoned Java developer I recognise the advances in look, feel and functionality that JavaFX offers over Swing, and I applaud the project.
      That said, have any of the developers read the likes of Josh Bloch (Effective Java) and Bruce Tate (Better, faster, lighter Java)?
      The JavaFX api disappoints me.

Take for example the simple parameters of the Circle class constructor.
      Circle(double d, double d1, double d2, Paint paint)
      This is very unfriendly and with just a little bit extra thought and effort could be so much improved.
      According to the javadoc: -
      d is the center x - the coordinate on the x axis for the center of the circle
      d1 is the center y - the coordinate on the y axis for the center of the circle
      d2 is the radius
      paint or rather fill is how to fill the circle

So why can't we have this information represented in the parameter names?
      Circle(double centerX, double centerY, double radius, Paint fill)
      There are many other examples with the api that would also, so easily benefit from a little more attention. You may well say that its not really important and that the functionality is far more important and further suggest that I stop moaning, but it is important and you are only letting yourselves down.

If you don't agree with me, go enlighten yourself and read "Better, faster, lighter Java" and "Effective Java".
      Just saying :D

I would be happy to offer my services to "practice what I preach" if that would help.
        • 1. Re: Unfriendly api?
          I agree, those look like IDE generated parameter names, which have no place in a public API (or even a non-public api for that matter, maybe for a simple private method that would do).
          • 2. Re: Unfriendly api?
            Perhaps you are missing something Sands, the Javadoc for the circle constructor you refer to is: