6 Replies Latest reply: Jan 2, 2013 1:05 AM by 846231 RSS

What Makes An  Excellent PL/SQL program?

Hi All pl/sql experts,

I am a newbie pl/sql programmer. I know how my coded pl/sql program different from an expert's program.
      Can you share me a sample code or a template of the well built pl/sql program? Something like the one that is error proof?
      Meaning it has all the characteristics of a complete program that handles error exception?
      I can not explain it well, But I know when experts check or examine a program, they will know what is lacking in it.

Thanks a lot,
      Kinz
        • 1. Re: What Makes An  Excellent PL/SQL program?
          ranit B
          >
          I am a newbie pl/sql programmer. I know how my coded pl/sql program different from an expert's program.
          Can you share me a sample code or a template of the well built pl/sql program? Something like the one that is error proof?
          Meaning it has all the characteristics of a complete program that handles error exception?
          I can not explain it well, But I know when experts check or examine a program, they will know what is lacking in it.
          Being a newbie... I'm also curious to know the answer...
          Let the Guru's speak and enlighten us with their excellence.
          • 2. Re: What Makes An  Excellent PL/SQL program?
            Ok fine :)

I will give you an exam to write a pl/sql code. And we let the gurus check how do we fair. This is an assignment given to me by my boss. I will code it also and let us compare our answers.

Here it is:

Given 2 tables: CI_MR_STAGE_UP, & CI_RR_STAGE_UP
            ==================================

Here is the pseudo code to be programmed:
            • For each record in CI_MR_STAGE_UP, where GEO_TYPE_CD = ‘NMI’ and MR_UP_STATUS_FLG = ‘E’
                   o Set MRUStagingID = MR_STAGE_UP_ID from the current CI_MR_STAGE_UP record