This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply: Jan 13, 2013 8:23 AM by sb92075 RSS

ORA-12505 TNS:listener does not currently know of SID given in connect desc

982381 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,

I am new to oracle. Installed oracle 11g.

When i try creating a new connection i have SID=xe; Hostname=localhost; port=1521. Also in orcal tab i have Role set to default and Connection type set to Basic( Need more infor on what these are?)

I am getting this error when creating connection in sql developer. I understood that listner.ora is not having the above default connection details in it. but i dint get to know much what to do on this.

--------------------
C:\Users\Ranjan>lsnrctl services

LSNRCTL for 32-bit Windows: Version 11.2.0.1.0 - Production on 01-JAN-2013 22:54
:10

Copyright (c) 1991, 2010, Oracle. All rights reserved.

Connecting to (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=IPC)(KEY=EXTPROC1521)))
Services Summary...
Service "CLRExtProc" has 1 instance(s).
Instance "CLRExtProc", status UNKNOWN, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
Handler(s):
"DEDICATED" established:3 refused:0
LOCAL SERVER
Service "orcl.home" has 1 instance(s).
Instance "orcl", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
Handler(s):
"DEDICATED" established:308 refused:0 state:ready
LOCAL SERVER
Service "orclXDB.home" has 1 instance(s).
Handler(s):
"D000" established:0 refused:0 current:0 max:1022 state:ready
DISPATCHER <machine: RANJAN-PC, pid: 2148>
(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(HOST=Ranjan-PC)(PORT=49158))
The command completed successfully
--------------------------
My Listner.ora file content

# listener.ora Network Configuration File: W:\app\Ranjan\product\11.2.0\dbhome_1\network\admin\listener.ora
# Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

SID_LIST_LISTENER =
(SID_LIST =
(SID_DESC =
(SID_NAME = CLRExtProc)
(ORACLE_HOME = W:\app\Ranjan\product\11.2.0\dbhome_1)
(PROGRAM = extproc)