This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Jan 3, 2013 3:44 AM by 981113 RSS

New to Apex and Oracle questions on writting my Quality Database

981113 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Here is my problem. I am not an IT programer, i do not know PL/SQL, but i need to write a very user friendly Quality defect database. We are going to be using Apple ipads to input the defects in real time into this data base. I need to attach data, pictures, PDF, and other files into this data base. The interface in the IPad has to be very simple and straight forward. I also need to have it web accessable to view reports and run querries. I have written a great interface using Filemaker pro 12 and Filemaker GO, however our IT deparment wants it put into Oracle. The reason i used Filemaker Pro 12 is that the design phase was extremely simple and it integrates perfectly with the Ipad. Please Help, are there any programs that interface with Apex that will allow for an easy page design for entry? I can share my filemaker database for reivew if anyone has any ideas?
  • 1. Re: New to Apex and Oracle questions on writting my Quality Database
    Earl Lewis Journeyer
    I've never used Filemaker, but if you can export your data from there into CSV format then this is a slam dunk. You get your data into CSV format, upload it into a new Apex application, build your baseline pages using the wizards and you're off and running, probably a lot less painful than Filemaker. This can literally take less than an hour and you'll be working with your new Apex app. Then the tweaking and refinement starts, which is where all the fun is anyway! :)

Earl
  • 2. Re: New to Apex and Oracle questions on writting my Quality Database
    Joni Vandenberghe Pro