This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Feb 4, 2013 9:58 PM by 951290 RSS

why to read undo data into bufffer cache during dml operation

951290 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
hi gurus,
i am a beginner in oracle dba . I have read sql processing steps in oracle , in which i noticed one thing that i got confused ie, during dml operation oracle server process reads undo blocks along with data blocks into
database buffer cache. Whats the purpose of loading undo image into buffer cache?? as it is already in undo tablespace. Also please guide me what happens to undo blocks after commit.
any help appreciated .

Thanks in advance

Mahi
  • 1. Re: why to read undo data into bufffer cache during dml operation
    Jairam Explorer
    Don't duplicate the thread., You already asked the same question in the below thread.,

is undo blocks also got loaded into buffer cache
  • 2. Re: why to read undo data into bufffer cache during dml operation
    951290 Newbie
    sorry,,,

please clear me instead of giving any other links.. as i read a lot of links related to this .
    even i read your article but still i m confused..

thanks
  • 3. Re: why to read undo data into bufffer cache during dml operation
    Jairam Explorer
    Hi,

After a transaction is committed, undo data is no longer needed for rollback or transaction recovery purposes. However, for consistent read purposes, long-running queries may require this old undo information for producing older images of data blocks. Furthermore, the success of several Oracle Flashback features can also depend upon the availability of older undo information. For these reasons, it is desirable to retain the old undo information for as long as possible. (Based on undo retention parameter).,

What is unclear for you in this statement?
  • 4. Re: why to read undo data into bufffer cache during dml operation
    951290 Newbie
    thanks for d guidance,

k let me ask some more,

let i fired a dml like this