8 Replies Latest reply: Jan 10, 2013 8:03 PM by User9976634-Oracle RSS

AddMultiPageTIFF for mainframe MRLs !

Hi everyone,

We are using 'AddMultiPageTIFF' rule in Windows and AIX environments and it is functioning - as expected.

However, when we try to implement this in a MF mrl, the documaker cannot pick the TIFF file in the specified path.

The steps we followed

1. Placed our TIFF file in a PDF (with the file extension being removed)
      2. Added the above rule in a section with parameter File('SXXXX.YYY.ZZZZ')
      3. Did a LBYSYNCH to the MF mrl

We even tried with adding file extensions, all combinations of spacing,apostrophes.
      None of them was picked by Documaker.

Has anyone done a simiar thing ?
      Any help is greatly appreciated. Many a thanks !

-Navin
        • 1. Re: AddMultiPageTIFF for mainframe MRLs !
          User9976633-Oracle
          I'm not a mainframe expert but I think you would need a DD name where the PDF file was stored.
          The DD name could be located in the extract file (and mapped to a GVM variable) or perhaps returned from a DAL script such as the following:

PDFName = "DD:PDF(medfax)"
          RETURN (PDFName);

Again, not my area of expertise but perhaps it will help (or least spark others to join in).
          • 2. Re: AddMultiPageTIFF for mainframe MRLs !
            user9976546
            Not sure what version you are using, but I'd try AddMultiPageBitmap if you are above 11.3. It uses a different set of code. There are some notes specific to MF environments.
            • 3. Re: AddMultiPageTIFF for mainframe MRLs !
              Gregg M
              Hey everybody,

Does anybody have any additional information on using AddMultipageBitmap? Navin, did you ever get this to work on z/OS?

I'm trying to do the same thing. I added a section level rule for AddMultipageBitmap with the following as my options:
              File(DD:TIFFILE(TEST1))

I put the following in my JCL in both GenData & GenPrint: