This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 18, 2013 4:36 PM by 985606 RSS

Load/Unload FXML like plugins

985606 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi, I'm a programmer coming from .NET, using technologies like WPF and DirectX among others... One of the reasons for leaving .NET is the mismanagement and inability to release usercontrols in a logical and easy way. Each of these usercontrols in the world. NET are .dll files that are instantiated via reflection and loaded into the main window as a plugin. Let's look at each of these plugins as a multimedia application with video, graphics, sound, or any other resources that can be loaded and later unloaded after serving its purpose.

My question is, this is possible in JavaFX? I imagine a Stage that loads each of these plugins as FXML, release them and replace it with a new plugin when required. It's like media player that plays FXML's, instead of songs or movies.

Again, I'm a Java newbie and my only reason to learn it is that if it works as I think, JavaFX will have no competitor.

Thanks for your help,

Roel Weapons
  • 1. Re: Load/Unload FXML like plugins
    Narayan Pro
    HI user,
    Well I am not quiet familiar with the .NET but Lets make clear about this vision of FXML.
    Firstly The FXML is nothing but just the XML structure of the JavaFX UI. You can easily plug out and plug in the FXML as you need. The JavaFX Loads the FXML at runtime and parses the XML to Java Language which displays the JavaFX Controls as per your need. You cannot make any conditional statement inside the XML. JavaFX has the good pattern for all designer and coders to work easily.
    To know more about FXML : Mastering FXML

Thanks
  • 2. Re: Load/Unload FXML like plugins
    985606 Newbie