This discussion is archived
12 Replies Latest reply: Oct 28, 2005 8:53 AM by Justin Cave RSS

Once a month Drop/Recreate Sequence

458520 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

I have very little experience with a stored procedure, but I'm working on learning. This is what I am trying to achieve:

I have a sequence that I need reset once at the beginning of each month. I am using it as a monthly counter. I can code in my program to drop the sequence and re-create it once a month, but I'm really looking to do this with some type of triggered stored procedure within the DB.

Thanks for all suggestions,
Rick
  • 1. Re: Once a month Drop/Recreate Sequence
    Justin Cave Oracle ACE
    While it is certainly possible to use DBMS_JOB to schedule this sort of thing, I would strongly suggest looking for alternatives. Dropping & recreating a sequence is almost always an indication that your design has some issues.

Sequence-generated values should not encode any information. Sequences can skip values, for example. On a RAC system, they can come out of order as well (unless you've specifically added the ORDER clause to the CREATE SEQUENCE statement).

Why do you need a counter that restarts every month? What is the business problem you're attempting to solve?

Justin
    Distributed Database Consulting, Inc.
    http://www.ddbcinc.com/askDDBC
  • 2. Re: Once a month Drop/Recreate Sequence
    458520 Newbie
    Thanks for the heads up on some possible design issues. This is the general idea of what I'm trying to accomplish:

I have some data running through my site in the form of user uploads and I use a sequence to assign a number to each "item" that runs though. Every item that is upload gets the next sequence number assigned to it.

I intend on using this as a monthly counter, hence my reason for dropping and resetting the sequence once monthly.

Thanks!
  • 3. Re: Once a month Drop/Recreate Sequence
    Justin Cave Oracle ACE