This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Jan 19, 2013 2:42 PM by EdStevens RSS

Student in Need of Help/Advice

985865 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
So I am currently a student at Purdue University and a newbie on this forum so I didn't know exactly where to post this because it touches a lot of topics.

Situation: I have been tasked by my Dad to create a database and a C# application that will help him run his online web store.

Problem: I recently installed Oracle 11g XE on my 64 bit Linux Fedora OS. I don't know the exact steps involved in order to make this database be accessible remotely from the application. This is needed because the Linux computer is with me while the application will be at my Dad's house. I know some things that keep popping up in all my searches are related to the listener.ora and tns files. I don't know if I need to change any files in linux as well (hosts file)? Is there some settings in Linux I'm missing server wise? This really isn't a question about the C# part because I just want to get a connection remotely first. Through SQL Developer at least, before trying to figure out the connection string in C#. Any help or direction to some online documentation, anything, is much appreciated. Thanks
  • 1. Re: Student in Need of Help/Advice
    Mahmoud_Rabie Journeyer
    Dear 982862,

Given:
    Oracle 11g XE on my 64 bit Linux Fedora OS.
    Required
    I don't know the exact steps involved in order to make this database be accessible remotely from the application.
    This really isn't a question about the C# part because I just want to get a connection remotely first. Through SQL Developer at least,
    Answer
    1) To connect to Oracle Database from SQL Developer
    http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E11882_01/appdev.112/e10766/tdddg_connecting.htm

2) To make the database accessible remotely
    how to remotely access to oracle database XE ?

If this answers your question, please, mark it as Correct, otherwise as helpful.