This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 23, 2013 2:03 AM by Bas de Klerk RSS

user authentication

prog Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I have developed a small application which consist of many workspaces,It's about patient registeration . what I am trying to do now is populating the variable in the username field which has been entered in the login page to specific fields in my own tables to make sure no one is choosing the wrong name and avoid mistakes.
anyone can help me please?
  • 1. Re: user authentication
    Bas de Klerk Pro
    Hi number 931509 ;)

You can use the user in PL/SQL via :APP_USER
    To set an item value with the logged in username you can set the default value to PL/SQL expression and user :APP_USER as the expression.

If this is not working tell us where/how you want to use it and also your APEX version and authentication method ( database/APEX account ?? ).

Regards
    Bas
  • 2. Re: user authentication
    prog Newbie
    I am very new to this environment..
    first I am using Application Express 4.0.2.00.09
    now if you can guide me step by step where should I go to update the field that will be highly appreciated
    here is my table and I have created a page for it. what I am looking for exactly is to have the field USER ID filled automatically as you mentioned with the APP_USER once the form is opened and it should also be uneditable.

Physician ID
    MMR
    Package ID
    Room Status
    Statusdate
    Statustime
    User ID

I am sure you have gone through this everyday and it's very simple but I need the steps please.
    also the expression to be written.
    thank you again.
  • 3. Re: user authentication
    prog Newbie
    could you please help me with the expression I need to write in the default ?
  • 4. Re: user authentication
    Bas de Klerk Pro
    Hi,