This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 23, 2013 6:58 PM by 986495 RSS

Grid runInstall can't find candidate disks

986495 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I have spent a few hours looking online, and through the forums for this info. I cannot find any similar issues.

I am new to linux and oracle. I'm learning as I go.

when executing ./runInstaller for grid, I get to the point of selecting my candidate disks I want to use. However no disks are listed.

I have already added them with oracleasm createdisk label /dev/sdb1

With success.

I am then able to execute the following with success:
[oracle@localhost ~]$ /usr/sbin/oracleasm listdisks
ASM1
ASM2
ASM3
ASM4
ASM5
ASM6

So I know they are listed within ASM. I have tried playing with the ownership of oracleasm and running ./runInstaller as grid with the same problem. When I select new location within the installer I enter "/dev/" and the program then hangs.

Running Oracle Linux 5u7
Trying to install 11gR2

any help would be great.

thanks
  • 1. Re: Grid runInstall can't find candidate disks
    Dude! Guru
    You are most likely missing the oracleasmlib software package. If I remember correctly, the installer tries to use the /usr/sbin/oracleasm-discover utility, which is part of the oracleasmlib installation, which is not provided by the public yum repository or OS installation DVD.

The following should fix your problem. Then try again and the OUI installer should see the candidate disks.

<pre>
    su - root
    wget http://download.oracle.com/otn_software/asmlib/oracleasmlib-2.0.4-1.el5.x86_64.rpm
    yum install oracleasmlib-2.0.4-1.el5.x86_64.rpm
    </pre>

Thread: Oracle UEK and ASMLIB not seeing volumes in OUI - missing utilities?
    Oracle UEK and ASMLIB not seeing volumes in OUI - missing utilities?

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/topics/linux/asmlib/index-101839.html
  • 2. Re: Grid runInstall can't find candidate disks
    Simon_DBA Journeyer