This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 24, 2013 1:20 AM by 986755 RSS

Showing error while compiling the servlet

986755 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hey guys....!

I am a beginner want to compile servlet with following path

javac -classpath \Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Tomcat 5.5\common\lib\servlet-api.jar;classes:.-d classes src\com\example\web\BeerSelect.java

Problem arises as follows
javac: invalid flag: Files\Apache
Usage: javac <options> <source files>
use -help for a list of possible options

what to do?
where did i make mistake?

Please help me out with this issue...!

Thank you..!

Edited by: 983752 on Jan 23, 2013 12:03 PM
  • 1. Re: Showing error while compiling the servlet
    r035198x Pro
    Your path contains spaces e.g \Program Files so you need to wrap the path in quotes e.g "\Program Files\Apache ..." so that it doesn't get broken up when passed to javac
  • 2. Re: Showing error while compiling the servlet
    986755 Newbie
    Thanks for your help...

It worked but i got another problem

Now, when i compile servlet as follows it shows me error....

C:\MyProject1\beerV1>javac -classpath "\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation
    \Tomcat 5.5\common\lib\servlet-api.jar";classes:.-d "classes src\com\example\web
    \BeerSelect.java"
    javac: file not found: classes src\com\example\web\BeerSelect.java
    Usage: javac <options> <source files>
    use -help for a list of possible options

I know that it comes when source file is not present in specified directory but i have this file BeerSelect.java in specified one...! but still i got this problem...!

Please help me with this one....! Thanks....!
  • 3. Re: Showing error while compiling the servlet
    r035198x Pro
    You have -d "classes src\com\example\web\BeerSelect.java"
    so the whole thing is being interpreted as an argument to -d since it's wrapped in quotes. Perhaps you meant -d classes "src\com\example\web\BeerSelect.java"?