This discussion is archived
8 Replies Latest reply: Jan 29, 2013 6:10 AM by 987517 RSS

How key binding in Oracle Forms works?

987517 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi guys,

This is my first time @ this forum.

I tried to find documentation about this but no luck.

I am new to Forms. Nevertheless, I know that in order to use key binding in Forms, fmrweb.res file is used. BUT....

How the Form( client) know which key was pressed? Does the forms gets it from windows?

I mean ,what kind of info(http request??) is sent over network to server ?

Lets assume F12 is assigned as 113 key value.

What happens over network when user clicks on keyboard F12?

Is there any info about this?

I read that when client accesses Forms application for the first time, java run-time classes bundled in JAR files are downloaded to client JRE cache. These files include frmall.jar, frmwebutil.jar and jacob.jar. This tells me there no conf files for client , only .class

To summarize my complicated question:) : I would like to know how my form knows what was pressed, before it send this data to server, which will read fmrweb.res and understand in the end the actual functionality

Thanks for your replies
  • 1. Re: How key binding in Oracle Forms works?
    Michael Ferrante (Oracle) Guru Moderator
    Let me start by saying "Welcome to the Oracle Forums" and more specifically to "Forms". Before going much further, I would recommend that you review the following page as it will help you to get the most valuable replies possible.

http://blogs.oracle.com/shay/entry/10_commandments_for_the_otn_fo